How Long Is Your Washing Machine's Motor Actually Covered? What LG, Samsung, Bosch, and IFB's Warranty Terms Really Say
Key takeaways
- A fully automatic washing machine's motor is almost always covered far longer than the 2-year base warranty - up to 10 years, sometimes tied to conditions worth checking before you assume it applies to you.
- Samsung's Digital Inverter Motor warranty depends on exactly when you bought the machine, the same calendar-window pattern as its refrigerator compressor warranty: 120 months (10 years) outside a specific window, 240 months (20 years, parts only) for purchases between Dec 1, 2022 and Mar 31, 2026.
- Bosch publishes its 10-year EcoSilence Drive motor warranty two different ways on two different pages - as an automatic entitlement on its formal warranty terms table, and as something you must register to MyBosch and activate within 8 weeks on a separate promotional page. Register anyway; it costs nothing and removes the ambiguity.
- IFB structures coverage differently from the other three: a 4-year whole-machine warranty (parts and labor, under what it calls "IFB Advantage"/TriShield) bundled with a separate 10-year motor-only warranty and a 10-year spare-parts-support commitment.
- LG's and Bosch's motor coverage is shorter on semi-automatic machines (5 years) than on fully automatic ones (8-10 years) - a real difference by machine type within the same brand, not a single flat number.
- Every motor-only warranty here explicitly excludes labor once the base warranty period ends - it covers replacing the part, not the technician's visit to fit it.
- Whirlpool's public terms don't state a washing machine motor warranty length at all - the same gap found in our refrigerator guide - so the printed card in the box is the only place to check.
The base warranty on a washing machine is usually just 2 years - but the motor, the single part that actually spins the drum through every wash, almost always carries its own, much longer coverage on top of that. LG’s Direct Drive Motor is covered for up to 10 years. Samsung’s Digital Inverter Motor is 10 years for most buyers, but a full 20 years if you happened to buy between December 2022 and March 2026. Bosch’s EcoSilence Drive motor is a 10-year figure described two different ways on two different Bosch pages. IFB bundles a 10-year motor warranty inside a 4-year whole-machine warranty, a genuinely different structure from the other three - and, unlike the other brands here, from a promotional explainer rather than a dedicated warranty terms page. This is the same pattern our refrigerator compressor warranty guide found for fridges - the number that actually matters isn’t the headline base warranty, it’s the long-tail component coverage most owners never write down.
Why the motor warranty matters more than the base warranty
Every washing machine sold in India comes with a base warranty - typically 2 years, sometimes 3 or 4 on a brand’s higher-tier front-load models - covering the appliance as a whole. But the motor is the one component doing continuous mechanical work every time the machine runs, spinning a drum loaded with wet laundry thousands of times over the machine’s life. A motor failure years into ownership is exactly the kind of expensive, hard-to-predict repair a warranty exists to protect against, and a washing machine with a dead motor is effectively a dead washing machine - the same logic that gives a refrigerator’s compressor or an AC’s compressor years of coverage well past the 1-2 year base warranty on the rest of the unit.
What each brand’s washing machine warranty terms actually say
Based on the currently published warranty terms of LG and Samsung’s India operations, Bosch’s published terms and conditions table and its free warranty extensions page, IFB’s own “IFB Advantage” explainer, and Whirlpool’s published terms and conditions:
Motor warranty, fully automatic / front-load, by brand (years)
Scale: 0–20 years. Figures shown are for fully automatic front-load (or, where a brand doesn't split by load type, its general) motor warranty - semi-automatic and top-load figures differ and are covered in the table below. *Samsung: 20 years (parts only) applies only to purchases between Dec 1, 2022 and Mar 31, 2026; 10 years otherwise. †Bosch: 10 years applies to entry front-load models per its terms table; mid/premium front-load models get 9 years; a separate Bosch page frames this same coverage as requiring MyBosch registration within 8 weeks. ‡IFB: 10 years is motor-only, bundled inside a shorter 4-year whole-machine warranty rather than a 2-year base. Whirlpool's public terms defer entirely to the printed card in the box.
| Brand | Base warranty | Motor warranty |
|---|---|---|
| LG | 2 years | Direct Drive Motor: 10 years (fully automatic, top-load and front-load) · Wash Motor: 5 years (semi-automatic) - parts only, no labor |
| Samsung | 24 months | Digital Inverter Motor: 120 months (10 years) for purchases before Dec 1, 2022 or after Mar 31, 2026; 240 months (20 years, parts only) for purchases Dec 1, 2022 - Mar 31, 2026 |
| Bosch | 2 years (entry front-load) · 3 years (mid/premium front-load) | EcoSilence Drive: 10 years (entry front-load) · 9 years (mid/premium front-load) · 8 years (top-load) · 5 years (semi-automatic) - parts only; a separate Bosch page frames the front-load figure as requiring MyBosch registration within 8 weeks |
| IFB | 4 years (whole machine, parts and labor) | 10 years, parts only, plus a separate 10-year spare-parts-support commitment |
| Whirlpool | Not stated online | Not stated online - terms explicitly defer to “the printed literature included with the Products” |
A few things worth noticing beyond the headline numbers:
- Samsung’s motor warranty is tied to a calendar window, not just the model - the exact same structure as its refrigerator compressor warranty covered in our fridge guide. Buy inside the Dec 2022-Mar 2026 window and the published figure doubles to 20 years; buy outside it and it’s 10.
- Bosch describes its own 10-year figure two different ways. Its formal terms-and-conditions table presents the EcoSilence Drive motor warranty as standard coverage tied to which front-load tier you bought. A separate “free warranty extensions” page describes the same period as something you have to actively register for at MyBosch and activate within 8 weeks. The two pages aren’t clearly reconciled - the practical answer is to register anyway, since it costs nothing and removes any doubt about which version applies if you ever need to make a claim.
- IFB’s structure is genuinely different from the other three brands here. Rather than a short 1-2 year base warranty with a much longer motor-only tail, IFB’s “IFB Advantage” bundles a full 4-year whole-machine warranty (parts and labor) with a separate 10-year motor-only warranty and a 10-year spares-support commitment - three distinct promises, not one number.
- IFB’s figures come with a caveat the LG, Samsung, and Bosch figures don’t. The 4/10/10 numbers above are from IFB’s own “IFB Advantage” promotional explainer, not a dedicated warranty terms-and-conditions page - IFB’s actual T&C page states warranty obligations are “limited to those set forth in the printed literature included with the Products,” the same deferral-to-the-printed-card language Whirlpool uses. Treat IFB’s figures as the brand’s own stated policy, but confirm them against your physical warranty card the same way you’d want to for Whirlpool.
- LG’s and Bosch’s motor coverage genuinely differs by machine type within the same brand - a fully automatic front-load or top-load machine gets 8-10 years, while a semi-automatic machine from the same brand gets only 5. Don’t assume a figure you’ve seen quoted for one machine type applies to the other.
- Whirlpool’s own website won’t tell you the number at all, the same gap we found for its refrigerators - its public terms and conditions state warranty obligations are “limited to those set forth in the printed literature included with the Products.” If you own a Whirlpool washing machine, that card is not optional reading.
How to find out which terms actually apply to your unit
Since the figures above vary by brand, by machine type, and for Samsung and Bosch specifically by purchase date or a registration step, the table above is a starting point, not a substitute for checking your own situation directly:
- Start with the physical warranty card that came in the box - the motor-coverage period is usually stated there directly, often more specifically than the brand’s general website page.
- Note your machine type - fully automatic front-load, fully automatic top-load, or semi-automatic - since LG’s and Bosch’s motor-warranty figures genuinely differ between them.
- If you own a Samsung washing machine, check your exact purchase date against the December 1, 2022 - March 31, 2026 window; it changes your Digital Inverter Motor coverage by a full decade.
- If you own a Bosch washing machine, register it to MyBosch and activate the extended warranty within 8 weeks of receiving it, regardless of which page’s framing you believe applies - it’s free and removes the ambiguity.
- Call the manufacturer’s customer care line with your model number and purchase date if the card is missing or the online terms don’t resolve it - they can confirm the exact terms attached to your specific unit.
The one thing washing machine warranties don’t require - unlike your AC
If you’ve read our guide to AC maintenance requirements, you know that LG’s and Voltas’s air conditioner warranties explicitly require servicing every few months to stay valid. Based on the washing machine warranty pages we reviewed directly from LG, Samsung, Bosch, and IFB, none of them ties the base or motor warranty’s validity to a required periodic service schedule the same way. There’s no “service every 3 months” clause to accidentally miss on a washing machine the way there is on an AC.
"There's no maintenance schedule to accidentally miss on a washing machine the way there is on an AC - the motor warranty stays valid whether or not you ever call for a service visit."
That doesn’t mean nothing can void it, though - it just means the failure mode is different, and in one specific way, washing-machine-specific.
What actually voids a washing machine warranty
The list above isn’t something to memorize - it comes down to four habits: call the brand’s authorized service line first even when a local technician would be faster, use the detergent type the manual actually recommends, don’t load the drum past its rated capacity, and know which parts your base warranty never covered in the first place. That’s the same underlying discipline covered for appliances generally in our guide on protecting an appliance warranty from day one, applied specifically to what actually trips up a washing machine’s motor coverage.
How Applimate helps
A motor warranty that runs 8-10 years, or 20 if you happened to buy your Samsung machine in the right window, is exactly the kind of coverage that's easy to forget the specifics of by the time you'd actually need it. Applimate ties the invoice, the exact purchase date, and the specific motor-coverage terms to the appliance itself - including a registration step like Bosch's MyBosch requirement, which is easy to lose track of once the 8-week window has closed and you've moved on. It also logs every service visit against the machine it happened to, which matters here specifically: if a repair is ever done, having a record of which technician did it and when is exactly the evidence a warranty claim years later would need.
Quick reference: washing machine warranty checklist
- Check your specific model’s warranty card for the exact motor coverage - don’t assume a general “10-year” figure applies to your unit
- Note whether your machine is fully automatic or semi-automatic - LG’s and Bosch’s motor coverage differs between the two
- If you own a Samsung washing machine, confirm whether your purchase date falls inside the Dec 2022-Mar 2026 window for the 20-year Digital Inverter Motor term
- If you own a Bosch washing machine, register it to MyBosch and activate the extended warranty within 8 weeks of receiving it
- If you own an IFB washing machine, keep track of the 4-year machine warranty and the separate 10-year motor warranty as two different windows, not one
- If you own a Whirlpool washing machine, keep the physical warranty card - the brand’s own website won’t tell you the motor-coverage length
- Use only authorized service centers for any repair, for the entire life of the motor warranty
- Use the recommended detergent type and stay within the rated load capacity - both are commonly listed exclusions specific to washing machines
- Keep the invoice and warranty card somewhere you’ll actually find years later, not just in the box the machine came in
A washing machine’s motor warranty is often the single longest piece of coverage on the appliance - in Samsung’s case, potentially longer than most people will own the machine at all. The only real mistake is not knowing which number, and which conditions, actually apply to your specific unit.